Robofoot qualifies for RoboCup 2005
 

Robofoot becomes the first Canadian team ever to be qualified for the World Cup of Robotics Soccer in the Middle-Size Robot League! 

To visit the list of qualified teams please follow this link.

The RoboCup 2005 (http://www.robocup2005.org/) will be held in Osaka, Japan, next July. During the last event held in Japan in 2002, in the same time as the FIFA World Cup, more than 114 000 visitors attended the competitions. If we look at the actual craze for entertainment and robotics, we can expect even more success for the 2005 edition. Next year, the RoboCup will be held in Germany during the 2006 FIFA World Cup... Lot's of action is to come!

The category in which will play Robofoot is the one demanding to accomplish the more impressive developments because the robots players are developed from A to Z by the participants. This means that the overall design involving mechatronics, control software, perception system and players intelligence is the original work of multi-disciplinary teams from various international universities. Our electronic athletes will then try, and let's precise they will do it absolutely autonomously, to win soccer matches against the most experimented international teams. Most of the teams in competition come from Japan, China and Germany. In the last years, the best teams come from Japan which are closely followed by some German teams. Robofoot will try to give its best shot for its first participation ever!

To have a better idea of the 6 robots that will represent us, you can look at the qualification material that we have submitted to the technical committee and that allowed us to join the top-level of international robotics soccer:

Technical description paper

Qualification Video

Robofoot se qualifie pour la RoboCup 2005
 

Robofoot devient la toute première équipe canadienne et québécoise à se qualifier pour la Coupe du Monde des robots joueurs de soccer dans la catégorie Middle-Size League! 

Pour visiter la liste d'équipes qualifiées suivre ce lien.

La RoboCup 2005 (http://www.robocup2005.org/) aura donc lieu à Osaka au Japon en juillet prochain. Lors de la dernière édition tenue au Japon en 2002 en même temps que la Coupe du Monde de soccer humain, près de 114 000 visiteurs avaient assisté à l'événement. Compte tenu de l'engouement pour la robotique actuellement, nous nous attendons à autant de succès cette année. L'an prochain, la RoboCup aura lieu en Allemagne durant la même période que la Coupe du Monde de soccer humain, ça va brasser!

La catégorie dans laquelle jouera Robofoot est celle qui demande de relever les plus grands défis puisque les équipes de robots sont développées en entier par les participants. Ainsi, l'ensemble de la mécatronique, du logiciel, de la perception ainsi que de l'intelligence des robots est le résultat du travail original d'équipes universitaires multi-disciplinaires. Nos athlètes électroniques tenteront donc, et ce de façon entièrement autonome il est important de le préciser, de remporter des matchs face à de redoutables équipes bien expérimentées. Le plus grand nombre d'équipes provient actuellement du Japon, de la Chine et de l'Allemagne. Depuis quelques années, les équipes les plus fortes proviennent du Japon suivies de très près par certaines équipes allemandes. Robofoot tentera, et ce dès sa première année de compétition, de tirer son ballon du jeu!

Pour avoir une meilleure idée de l'équipe de 6 robots qui nous représentera, jeter un coup d'oeil aux documents de qualification que nous avons soumis au comité technique, documents qui nous ont permis de rejoindre l'élite mondiale du soccer robotisé:

Document de description technique

Vidéo de qualification